• The Munster Moonraker Rally, Sunday 03 March
  • The Willie Loughman Memorial Forestry Rally, Sunday 14 April
  • The Sean Conlon Memorial Forestry Rally, Sunday 16 June


  • The Carlow Stages Rally (MK2 challenge), Sunday 12 May
  • The Ravens Rock Stages Rally, Sunday 30 June
  • The Stonethrowers Stages Rally, Sunday 11 August
  • The Dick Bailey, Wexford Stages Rally, Sat. 7; Sun. 8 September


It’s a seven round championship and with four rounds complete it’s still wide open as to who will be the 2013 TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Champion.

The previous round of the 2013 TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship was stopped after the completion of six stages as a result of the tragic accident that claimed the life of competitor Paul Mulcahy from Kilgobinet, Dungarvan. Paul was a well-known and respected competitor who had competed in the TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship. We offer our condolences to Fiona and son Paul, his family and large circle of friends.

Mike Garahy / Sean Henehan, Escort MK2, Class 2 have consolidated their lead in the 2013 TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship with 80 points. Once again they were class winners.

Maintaining second overall are the long time 2013 TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship leaders Pascal O’Shea / Robbie Hennessey, Escort MK2, class 2 on 74points. Their edge may be slipping slightly as they finished third in class.

Pierce Doheny and Tommy Hayes in the class 1 Opel Corsa are still third overall on 61 points. Pierce and Tommy were on official duty on the Ravens Rock foregoing the opportunity of adding to their point’s total.

Class 1. Ken Tracy / Martin Comerford, Peugeot 206 won the class and are well ahead on 57 points. Emmet Cronin / Mossie O’Connell, Escort MK2 are on 32 points and may yet prove a surprise in the coming rounds.

Class 2. Mick Nevin / David Forde in the usually reliable Escort MK2 posted a non-finish are still the class leaders on 53 points. Niall and Garry Fitzpatrick, Escort Mk1 are on 39 points scoring bonus points. The MK1 is a credit to his craft. Kieran O’Sullivan / Patrick O’Gorman, Peugeot are third on 18 points.

Class 3. Richard Dalton /John Smithwick, Honda Civic, have taken over the class lead and with bonus points being scored they are now on 51 points. Richard Cleary / Niamh Holland, Honda Civic, class winners in Carlow and class winners in the ‘Rock have 45 points. Paul Fitzgerald / Pierce Doheny, Escort MK2, but are committed to the forestry events have slipped back to third on 43 points.

Class 4. Sean W. Benskin / Joe Fitzgibbon, Escort MK2 are still leading the class on 40 points. Eamon and Sarah Dowling, Escort MK2 are on 36 points. Ray Benskin (jnr) / Nick Hegarty, Escort MK2 are third on 32 points. The Benskins are also committed to the forestry events and are unlikely to compete on the tarmac events.

Class 5. James Coleman and Liam Brennan, Escort MK2, are now leading the class on 58 points. They used their bonus points to good advantage but had to cede the class win on the ‘Rock to the fast charging James Stafford / Amy Ryan, Darrian T90 GTR, who are now up to third in class and likely to keep the rise rapid. Still in second are Shane McGirr and Jackie Elliot in the rapid Toyota on 57 points. This is another crew who are concentrating on the forestry events

Class 6. Mark Murphy / Alistair Wylie, Mitsubishi Lancer EVO8, are enjoying the change of marque and are now class leaders on 42 points. John Reid / Enda Sheils, Toyota Corolla WRC have slipped back to second on 40 points. Owen Murphy / James O’Brien, Mitsubishi Lancer are third on 32 points.

Juniors. Running away with this class are Dean Raftery / Aileen Kelly, Honda Civic on 42 points. This competitor is rapidly making a name as a serious talent and one with a great future. Tonya Fortune / Dan King, Opel Corsa, won the class in the Ravens Rock and have 11 points.

2013 TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship Registrar; Ann Fitzgerald, The Cross, Mooncoin, Via Waterford. ‘Phone / fax 051 895238. Email;

Press officer, Joe O’Brien, Carrick Beag, Carrick-on-Suir. 086 3154442





Similar Posts