2012 TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship







Normally, approaching the Carlow Stages Rally, the three forestry rounds have been completed and we eagerly look forward to the arrival of the Tarmac competitors to the TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship. But this year the events are running a bit out of kilter, as the Sean Conlon Forestry Rally will run on the 8th of July in Mitchelstown.


Back to the recent past and the Munster Moonraker forestry, four crews shared the lead before the event and on the bright, open sun blessed stages just two now share the lead on the 2012 TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship, both on 45 points. The 2011 winner, Shay Power and new navigator Paul Collins, Escort MK2, class 5, once again showed his class with another dominant display to head the two-wheel cars home. The other class act was performed by Ray Benskin (jnr) and Ollie Kierce, also in a MK2 Escort but in class 4. The question now is, will Benskin try the Carlow Escort Challenge and keep the pressure on Power.


Garry Jennings had Barry McNulty on the notes and but for a roll on Stage three would closer to the overall position are now on 36 points. The class 6 Subaru finished the event with a borrowed windscreen a mere three seconds behind rally winners Owen Murphy.


Third overall is again shared by three crews, all on 31 points. Class 2 winners on the Moonraker were the ever competitive Mick Nevin and David Forde, Ford Escort MK2. Their championship challenged resumed after an untypical non-finish in Carrick. The bonus points have brought them back into contention. Pascal O’Shea / Robbie Hennessey, Escort MK2, class 2, and Adrian McElhinney / Shane Buckley, Peugeot 206, class 3 both non-finished, their points scored in the Carrick-on-Suir Willie Loughman Forestry Rally.


Class 1. Competitors here are beset with the misfortune of non-finishing through mechanical problems and visiting the scenery. Emmet Cronin leads on 2 points from John Rafter and Joe Shinnors both with 1 point.


Class 2. Leading the class are Pierce Doheny / Damian Lawlor, Opel Corsa, 25 points. Dario Tempesta / Ger Brett, Nova, 20 points.


Class 3. Andrew Fanning / Derek Gibbs, Ford Puma are out on their own with 24 points. Incidentally despite winning the class amassed just 12 points due to lack of class starters. Adrian Mulcahy / Des Flynn; Billy Ryan / Tommy Cuddihy have 2 and 1 points respectively.

Class 4. Retaining the class lead are John Murphy / Niall Fitzpatrick, Escort MK2, 24 points. Second are the Father and son team of Alan and James Commins, Escort MK2, 12 points.


Class 5. Mickey McGillin / Aaron Johnston, Escort MK2, on 25 points were another crew to non-finish. Doing a full event at more competitive speed were James Coleman / Kaye Shanahan, Escort Mk2 on 13 points. No radio report on the exploits from this event!! Ed Colton / Claire O’Mahony non started in the Peugeot 306, 10 points, believed to be saving his energy to wrestle a Hillman Avenger around the stages in Carlow,


Class 6. Gemma Kerley / Lynn Martin, Subaru Impreza are leading the class on 21 points. Proving the well worn rally cliché of to finish first you must finish first, consistency in their finishing has them at the top of the class. Vincent and J. P. McAree, Mitsubishi Evo 9, are as close as possible behind them on 20 points Niall Hennery / John Rowan, Subaru Impreza, 17 points. For the record Owen Murphy / James O’Brien, Mitsubishi Lancer, winners of the Munster Moonraker Forestry are on 16 points.


Juniors. Ian Downey / Sean Barron, Opel Corsa, 16 points. Dean Raftery / Mark Kirwan, Honda Civic, 13 points. Tonya Fortune / Dan King, Corsa, 1 point.


We look forward to welcoming the tarmac only crews to the remaining rounds of the TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship. With the help of the weather gods may we be blessed with Sun drenched stages and full entry lists.


The remaining rounds of the 2012 TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship are:

The Carlow Stages Rally. Tullow, Sunday 13 May.                                           Tarmac rally.

The Ravens Rock Stages Rally, Kilkenny, Sunday 24 June.                   Tarmac rally.

The Sean Conlon Memorial Forestry Rally. Mitchelstown.  Sun. 08 July.           Forestry rally.

The Stonethrowers Stages Rally, Clonmel, Sunday 12 August.                           Tarmac rally.

The Dick Bailey, Wexford Stages Rally, Wexford, Sat.8, Sun 9, Sept.   Tarmac rally.


2012 TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship Registrar; Ann Fitzgerald, The Cross, Mooncoin, Via Waterford. ‘Phone / fax. 051 895238. Email; info@carrickonsuirmotorclub.co.

Press officer, Joe O’Brien, Carrick Beag, Carrick-on-Suir. 086 3154442



Similar Posts